wherev.blogg.se

Vox ac30cc2 reverb low output
Vox ac30cc2 reverb low output







vox ac30cc2 reverb low output

Whether one or the other is tonally superior is in the ear of the beholder - I'm ok with either. Using op-amps is more effficient than valves, which waste a lot of energy generating the currents required to feed a spring tank, plus you loose the need for an extra transformer. Like a lot of modern amps (the Vox AC30 CC2 included), it's driven by op-amps rather than valves, but it's still driving a good old fashioned spring tank. but to each their own.Unless I'm mistaken, the Blues Juniors reverb circuit is solid state, not digital.

vox ac30cc2 reverb low output

with its digital reverb circuit and tiny tank as a good Fender reverb sound. Yeah, kind of surprised as few people think of the Blues Jr. That being so, the advice still applies, just look for a shorter tank instead! It occurs to me now it may mean splashier/nastier. If you have the code for your unit, you should be able to search out a matching tank with longer springs.Įdit: I took 'drippier' to mean smoother/lusher. Here's a guide to what the code on a standard Accutronics tank is telling us: There are also myriad grounding schemes, although these can often be jumpered to suit. The tank in your Vox will be driven by an op-amp, and so will expect a few hundred ohms at least. Valve reverb tanks typically operate on tens of ohms, solid state tanks hundreds or even thousands. I don't think mismatching impedences will harm your amp (although best ask a qualified repair person to be on the safe side), but a mismatch may cause crappy sound. I played my AC15 with the Laney tank for years without any issues, but I may have been lucky. One thing to consider - different reverb tanks have different input and output impedences. When fitted to the Vox, the 12" tank produced a much lusher reverb than it's predecessor. I had similar issues with the less than excellent reverb tank, so I switched it for the tank from a Laney VC30.įrom memory, the reverb unit from the VC30 was a 12" tank, whilst the tank from the AC15 was 8" or 10". Some years ago I had an AC15 CC2 (I think - it was the older version with the single input).

vox ac30cc2 reverb low output

Is the CC2 the older Vox, with the single input, or the more recent version with the Normal/Top Boost inputs?

vox ac30cc2 reverb low output

This may sound like a stupid question, but I've looked a bit and can't find any internet threads about anyone who has done this - is it possible on my vox to switch the reverb tank to one that will sound more like that Fender spring that I'm used to? Or maybe even more drippier than that? However, I like my new Vox and I'm not going back to the Blues jr. Since then I've learned that I really like drippy, springy reverb, and that it's difficult to emulate without buying an expensive AF pedal. Before this amp, I was pretty accustomed to the spring reverb coming from a Fender Blues Jr, and tbh I miss it a lot. I recently got a Vox AC30 cc2, and the reverb tanks are notoriously crappy and frequently replaced.









Vox ac30cc2 reverb low output